Cold Shot

$12.79$15.9920
Paperback
  • Buy 10+ and save 30%
  • Buy 20+ and save 40%

Description

Four Best Friends.
And Then One Went Missing . . .

In college, Griffin McCray and his three best friends had their lives planned out. Griffin and Luke Gallagher would join the Baltimore Police Department, Declan Grey would head to the FBI, and Parker Mitchell would study to become a crime scene analyst. But then Luke vanished before graduation and their world--and friendships--crumbled.

Now years later, Griffin has left the police and his friendships behind. Still trying to forget a case that went bad when he was a SWAT team sniper, he's living a quiet life as a park ranger at Gettysburg. Quiet until skeletal remains are uncovered near Little Round Top--and they aren't Civil War-era.

Griffin just wants the case to go away, but charming forensic anthropologist Finley Scott discovers evidence pointing to the work of an expert sniper. When FBI agent Declan Grey steps in to take over the case, past and present collide. Griffin soon realizes he'll need to confront some of the darkest days of his life if he--and those he cares about--are going to escape a downward spiral of crime, danger, and murder.

"Readers will empathize with the well-crafted and believable characters in this tense opening to her new series."--Publishers Weekly

"Pettrey's fast-paced tale offers smart characters who know romance won't work until they are able to deal with their personal issues. As they confront their pasts, their tracking of the killer leads them into a tangled web of historical violence, guaranteeing that readers will stay on the edge of their seats."--Booklist starred review

"The first book in Pettrey's new Chesapeake Valor series starts with action, intrigue, and a cast of fascinating characters. The combination of a present-day crime intertwined with crimes that haunt the characters makes for a gripping storyline with great potential for future installments."--RT Book Reviews

"Fans of Pettrey will adore this new romantic suspense series. Dynamic protagonists and an increasingly tense narrative set the scene for a harrowing and thrilling ride. As the tension ratchets up, a growing romantic chemistry between Griffin and the charming Finley builds as well....A solid pick for adrenaline fiction junkies and readers of Lis Wiehl and DiAnn Mills."--Library Journal

"Fans of Dee Henderson and Terri Blackstock will enjoy this suspenseful read. It's the first book in the series and quickly draws the reader in, not letting them go till the last page."--CBA Retailers + Resources

"An intricate plot, a reunion of friends and an appealing lead couple make this a standout."--Booklist

Contributors

Dani Pettrey, Author

Praised by New York Times best-selling author Dee Henderson as "a name to look for in romantic suspense," Dani Pettrey has sold more than 400,000 copies of her novels to readers eagerly awaiting the next release. Dani combines the page-turning adrenaline of a thriller with the chemistry and happy-ever-after of a romance. Her novels stand out for their "wicked pace, snappy dialogue, and likable characters" (Publishers Weekly), "gripping storyline[s]," (RT Book Reviews), and "sizzling undercurrent of romance" (USA Today).
 
Her Alaskan Courage series and Chesapeake Valor series have received praise from readers and critics alike and spent multiple months topping the CBA bestseller lists. Dani has also been honored with multiple awards, including the Daphne du Maurier Award, two HOLT Medallions, a Christy Award finalist, two National Readers' Choice Awards, the Gail Wilson Award of Excellence, and Christian Retailing's Best Award.
 
From her early years eagerly reading Nancy Drew mysteries, to paging through Agatha Christie novels or watching on-the-edge-of-her-seat adventure movies, Dani has always enjoyed mystery and suspense. She considers herself blessed to be able to write the kind of stories she loves--full of plot twists and peril, love, and longing for hope and redemption. Her greatest joy as an author is sharing the stories God lays on her heart.  She researches murder and mayhem from her home in Maryland, where she lives with her husband. Their two daughters, a son-in-law, and two adorable grandsons also reside in Maryland. For more information about her novels, visit danipettrey.com.

View more by Dani Pettrey